Should You Trust Facebook?

I just received an email from Facebook saying:

Unfortunately, the settings that control which email notifications get sent to you were lost. We’re sorry for the inconvenience.

To reset your email notification settings, go to:

[A link to facebook]

Thanks,
The Facebook Team

At first glance, this looks like spam, or phishing.

Spam from facebook

Spam from facebook

(Click the above image for a larger version).

Note that the sender email is: root+oord=rze@facebookmail.com, The username looks strange, and the domain is facebookmail not facebook. Looks like phishing. Is it?

Of course I didn’t touch the link in this mail (which is a real link to facebook), and just took a screenshot in order to write a post and warn people to be careful.

Surprisingly, when I logged in to my facebook account. I just saw the same notification:

facebook spam

facebook spam

(Click the above image for a larger version)

What? How? Why?

So it’s really facebook!

Why didn’t they lose my other settings? Do they have different databases for each type of settings? Will they lose my bookmarks? I know people who have lots of albums in facebook, will they lose their photos as well?

I expected from a company like facebook to give a better explanation than “Unfortunately”, this is unacceptable.

And this not the end, guess what?

A quick search in Google shows that I’m not the first, other people had a similar experience with facebook:

25, Nov this year: http://broadcast.oreilly.com/2008/11/dear-facebook-you-lost-my-what.html

26, Nov this year: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/11/26/facebook_email/

Earlier today: http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=20531316728&topic=7961

Google and you’ll see many many others.

The question is: Couldn’t facebook fix the “problem” in 26,Nov when it first “happened” (It’s the earliest date I could find this problem reported in)? How could this happen for so much people?

Why did facebook decide to use a so strange mail address?

All are open questions that facebook will have to address.

One other thing: Just to be sure that it’s really facebook, I ran a whois query on facebookmail.com and it really belongs to facebook.

facebookmail whois

facebookmail whois

(Click the above image for a larger version).

Conculsion: It’s no doubt on of two alternatives:

1. Facebook are liars: Never trust them, never give them your credit card # or any personal information. They may missuse it.

OR

2. Facebook are so irresponsible: Never expect them to keep your data, never be surprised if you lose all your friend/photos/bookmarks/etc..

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!

Post to Twitter Post to Delicious Post to Digg Post to Facebook Post to Reddit Post to StumbleUpon

Related posts:

  1. Fix Facebook Chat in Firefox 3.5 (Shiretoko) in Ubuntu
  2. Embed A Document Using Google Docs

Tags: ,

Saturday, November 29th, 2008 Websites

4 Comments to Should You Trust Facebook?

  • Ali Ayoub says:

    Interesting, indeed it looks like phishing.
    Thanks for sharing.

  • Amir Watad says:

    Ali!
    Thanks for commenting. And thanks for your notice..

    I’m seriously considering whether to continue using facebook!

  • Rami Jiossy says:

    First, i hope you already sent an e-mail to facebook stating u’r fury.

    Besides, Do you have any idea now what are those settings which you lost?
    try to find out, maybe it’s an advanced spam.

  • Amir Watad says:

    Hi Rami,
    Thanks for your comment.
    And yes, I checked my settings. Theses were the settings which tell facebook which types of notifications I want to receive by email. Of course I disabled all of them, but after I received this strange email, they were all enabled. Though it’s definitely not an advanced spam, it’s just a spam – sent by facebook themselves.
    I can try to guess why they do this, maybe to just force inactive users log to there accounts from time to time, and maybe they really did lose my settings, and it’s a good indication of how reliable this service is.

  • Leave a Reply

    my email
    my photo
    Hi,
    My name is Amir Watad. I have a BSc. in biomedical engineering from The Biomedical Engineering school , Technion , Israel, and a BSc. in electrical engineering from The Electrical Engineering school , Technion , Israel.
    I'm a Verification Engineer in Mellanox Technologies Ltd.
    I love Linux, the Command Line and the OpenSource Community.
    I used to write Poems (Arabic) when I was able to find time for this.
    November 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
    SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline

    Twitter links powered by Tweet This v1.6.1, a WordPress plugin for Twitter.